October 22, 2010

It wasn’t the perfect day to finish The Great Gatsby.


It’s getting really cold these days. The wind was blowing so hard as if contesting with men. There was the usual annoying drizzle which, more often than not, would stop immediately after I put on the raincoat. Every time. It hardly fails.

I rushed in the cozy train carriage. Picked up the page where I last read. Looking at the world, again, through Mr. Carraway’s eyes.

Five minutes away from Leiden, I reached the end. And I felt a profound sense of loss.

I am too cynical to sympathize with Mr. Gatsby. But still, there was a strong urge to cry: the silent irresponsibility is the most heartbreaking betrayal.

“I couldn’t forgive him or like him, but I saw that what he had done was, to him, entirely justified. It was all very careless and confused. They were careless people, Tom and Daisy – they smashed up things and creatures and then retreated back into their money or their vast carelessness, or whatever it was that kept them together, and let other people clean up the mess they had made…”

— The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

 

Despite all these, I had fun exploring, again, Den Haag on my own. I held in my hand the map printed out at the station and started walking in the cold autumn wind.

This way of travelling suits me better. I am never keen on visiting tourist attractions, but prefer staying in one place longer and stop by the monuments, spontaneously, after class or on the way to get groceries. And by this way, I see things.

2 Responses to “”

  1. mel Says:

    don’t you find the first line in the great gastby most interesting.


Leave a Reply

